[Sewing] Color Decisions

Some of you may have noticed the badge on my right side bar from The Sew Weekly Reunion. Yes, I decided to join it, even if I had no idea it existed until a week or two ago. And I decided to post about it in English, since it just would be kind of silly otherwise. So here’s the German girl trying not to fail too hard at writing in English about her sewing adventures.

The theme for the reunion are the Pantone Fall Colors 2013 which, I have to admit, are not sooo much my cup of tea.

Pantone Fall Colors 2013

Pantone Fall Colors 2013

At first glance they don’t look that bad, but: I just don’t like orange (seriously, nothing in my wardrobe is orange), I’m very picky about red because I’m still letting my red dyed hair grow out and it changes its color weekly with the summer sun bleaching it and never looks good with any shade of red I own and brown… well I like brown but I’m not really wearing it. Not sure why. Then there are three shades of green, but I don’t like this murky tone of the Deep Lichen and while I actually think Linden Green looks nice I prefer darker colors for myself. So that leaves me with Emerald, Mykonos Blue, Acai and Turbulence. While Emerald is Pantone’s Color of the Year, I can’t really remember seeing it anywhere.

Anyway, when I looked at them I suddenly remembered this piece of blue fabric I had in my stash, which is a dark shade of blue striped with Mykonos Blue and a wonderful more or less Turbulence melange jersey I saw at the mall but had no idea what to do with it and therefore didn’t buy it. The blue fabric was originally bought for a skirt which I didn’t come around to make yet, so I’m gonna change that and while surfing around in a forum I came across a really easy and striking idea what to make out of the jersey, so I ran to the mall and bought it. I already used an Acai colored lining two times this year and am a little bored by the color and I really found no fabric at all in Emerald. So I’m settling to make that blue skirt and my jersey project for the reunion. If I do happen to find an Emerald fabric, I’ll buy it for a shirt because I really like the color (and I already know what kind of shirt I’d like to have). I guess that means my reunion project is not one single garment, but rather a whole outfit. Since I have a whole month to sew this, it sounds quite possible to me.

I don’t want to go into the details about the outfit but here’s what I already did: I made a pattern and several muslin parts for the skirt, wrote lots of notes what I have to do and in which order, bought all the odds and ends I still needed and started cutting the blue fabric. The biggest problem here is the placing of the stripes. I also got a fabric for a matching pair of tap pants. The jersey project doesn’t have a pattern, only instructions, and sewing it shouldn’t take more than a few hours but I still have to wash the fabric. I’ll try to first complete the skirt, then the tap pants, then the jersey thing.

And how do you like the Fall Colors? What would you make out of them? I’m already sooo excited to see all the things coming out of this and I’m thrilled to be a part of it!

3 thoughts on “[Sewing] Color Decisions

  1. I like the blues, the purple, the emerald and the grey colors shown. BUT I have not decided if I am going to join the Sew Weekly reunion yet- I know I should know by now but IF the right fabric jumps out at me in those colors- well, then I will be joining. I am looking forward to seeing what you make! ~Laurie PS- Your English post is well done!

    • Hi Laurie, seems to me you picked the same colors as me😉 I guess I was very lucky to have some fabric in my tiny stash and a basic idea what to do with it, so I only had to work out the details. Oh, and sew it. (I finished the main part of the skirt yesterday, so that only leaves handstitches to do – yeah!) Usually I’m a “go to the store, look at the fabrics and buy whatever makes you think of a garment” person. So shopping for specific colors is not really my thing.
      I hope some fabrics jumps at you screaming for a Reunion project, I’d love to see what you make out of it!
      And thanks for the comment on my English – finding the right words is still not so easy for me, and I’m glad it’s at least understandable xD

What are your thoughts about it?

