[Sewing] Skirts and Stuff and Things

Okay, like I mentioned before I actually did sew some things in September.

First, there is the Short Lace Top from Be My Goth. It’s a free pattern, super easy to sew and the tutorial is very detailed (and kind of hilarious🙂 ). I cut a size 38 in width and a 36 in length since I’m only 1.6 meters tall. The top still isn’t that short on me, but I like the length as it is.

Short Lace Top - front view

Short Lace Top - back view

I also made a skirt ouf of a knitted wool fabric with a black and white herringbone pattern. It’s a thick and warm fabric, perfect for fall and winter here in Germany. At least I hope so. Out of pure styling laziness I took the photos with bare legs and feet – but I already know it looks great with black tights and a sweater.

Herringbone Skirt - side view

The pattern is self-made again, but it only consists of two trapezes and one long stripe for the waistband. It hits right at the knees, so I might also wear it at work some time.

Herringbone Skirt - back

Inside of the waistband is a broad elastic, because the fabric itself isn’t stretchy enough for an elastic waistband. Which I only realized after sewing the waistband on😉 But opening one seam and inserting the elastic wasn’t that much work. I did the hem with a herringbone stitch, to keep it elastic. And because of the herringbone pattern of the fabric🙂

And I made a birthday present for a friend. She’s a real Star Trek fan, so that’s always my theme for her birthday presents. Last year she got a Klingon dictionary (including grammar rules!), but this year I decided to sew something for her. Her party was kind of a last-minute decision, so I only had one week to decide what to sew and stitch it up. She got a red and black neckerchief with a delta shield embroidered on it.

Star Trek Scarf

So, that was my sewing September. Right now I’m finishing the hem on another skirt (I seem to get obsessed with sewing skirts) but I’ll show it to you later this month😉

What are your thoughts about it?

